History/Introduction

The Club was founded in September 1894 and a 9-hole course constructed after a meeting of businessmen from Renfrew and Govan on land leased from Speirs of Elderslie Estate. In 1920 James Braid was the Architect who extended the course to 18 holes when the Clubhouse opened on the 20th May 1925. The extended course was the longest in the West of Scotland with a Par of 73.

The present tree-lined parkland course, constructed in 1970 and officially opened on 29th September 1973, was the design of Architect Commander John D. Harris in the estate of the late Lord Blythswood. Fine specimens of Lime, Chestnut, Beech, Birch, Oak, Sycamore in all 29 different species of trees have been identified. The 12th hole has a particularly vibrant display of Rhododendrons for part of the season.

Since 1973, the 6808 yard course with a SSS of 73 off the Championship Tees has hosted many major tournaments: Scottish Amateur Championship 1984 and 1994, The European Boys Team Championship 1988, The Sunderland of Scotland Masters and in 2000-2004 Scottish Regional Qualifier for The Open.